Blackberry Vinegar

One of my favorite salad dressings of all time is a good old raspberry vinaigrette.  It makes a warm day seem sunnier, and a cold winters day seem more like springtime.  It’s just plain good.

There’s been so much going on here between clean up from the storm, renovations to our kitchen and bath, and heading back to work that I just want some simplicity and routine in my life.  Something happy, sunny and simple.  So after blackberry picking today, I decided it was high time to make my own berry vinegar so we would have it.

Like the vanilla extract, this is something that you make today and let steep for a while before you can actually use it.  In this case, it’ll be about two weeks before I know if I nailed this guy on the head or not.   But it looks and smells amazing, so I have high hopes for this one!

Blackberry Vinegar
2 cups white vinegar
1 cup blackberries
 
Put vinegar and blackberries into a pan and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and let simmer for 3 minutes.  Let sit for 30 minutes until cool.  Pour into a quart jar, place plastic wrap on top and seal with metal rim.  Let sit for two weeks, then strain berries out and put liquid into a pint jar.  Will store for up to six months.
4 thoughts on “Blackberry Vinegar

    • GAL says:

      It was so super simple–I’ll certainly update in two weeks when my batch is done. I’d love to hear how yours turns out!

      • flyfishbrat says:

        I’ll let you know what I think. Just told Mark I was going to make a batch this weekend. I’m thinking it would make a wonderful marinade for a double cut pork chop. Thanks again for the recipe. I hope you don’t mind if I reblog it with credit to you when I use it.

      • GAL says:

        I don’t mind at all! And I saw your peach snicker doodles–can’t wait to try those :). Take care and happy homemade vinegar making!

Leave a Reply

