Apple Pie Cake

I found the biggest apples I’ve ever seen at a local orchard the other day, and just had to bring them home.  I mean these things are huge–I would put them at almost a pound a piece.  In addition to munching happily with some cashew butter from the Mennonite store down the street, I’ve also been trying to incorporate them into some baking projects as well.

One of my favorite apple recipes is from my Godmother–it’s sweet, spicy, and perfect with a dollop of whipped cream.  This time around I swapped out whole week flour, and it still baked up moist and tender–you can’t even really tell that I made the swap.    Not only did it taste delicious, it made the entire house smell like gorgeous fall goodness!

On the horizon is going to be trying to make a green tomato and apple chutney, but that project will have to be tackled when I get back from my last recruiting trip of the season.  Soon, folks, soon!

Apple Pie Cake
 
1/4 cup butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp course sea salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups chopped apples
1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional)
Whipped Cream to taste
 
Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Melt butter;  once melted blend in sugar and egg.  Add remaining ingredients and mix until blended.  Turn into a greased and floured 9 inch pan, and bake for 40-45 minutes (I always struggle to get the middle done just right–this time around I cut the oven off at the 45 minute mark and let the cake sit in the cooling oven with the door shut for about 15 minutes.  Center was done, and the cake wasn’t burnt).

3 thoughts on “Apple Pie Cake

    • GAL says:

      Same here–it’s partly why I love this recipe so much! Thanks so much for posting and if you try out the recipe let me know how it turns out for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

