Blueberry Peach Crisp

As soon as I slip on my work clothes, jump in the car and then head up the road, Staycation 2011 will be officially over.  A part of me is really sad–I really have loved jumping into our version of homesteading wholeheartedly.  But the other part is really excited to get back–we have five new people in the office, and once I walk through my office door my new responsibilities will really start to kick in full force.  It’s bittersweet, but there’s always next summer, right?  Right!

But it is Monday Morning, and I figured everyone might could use a pick-me-up (I certainly could), so I got up early to whip this up–sweet, delicious, and not too terribly bad for you, too (if you’re following Weight Watchers like JGL and I, if you divide this into 8 servings, it is 3 points plus a serving).   I used some of the homemade ricotta cheese that I saw on the fabulous Smitten Kitchen (I swear, she’s a genius!) which made the topping rich and creamy, but if you don’t have ricotta you could certainly supplement with butter.

I’m hoping this will make my reentry into the work force a little sweeter, and here’s hoping it’ll make your morning a little sweeter too.

Blueberry Peach Crisp
 
2 pounds peaches, peeled and sliced
1-1 1/2 cups blueberries
2 TBS lemon juice
1-2 tsp fresh ginger, grated
1/2 cup oatmeal
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup homemade ricotta cheese
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp almond extract 
  • Combine sliced peaches, blueberries, lemon juice and fresh ginger in a bowl and toss.  
  • In a separate bowl combine last seven ingredients, and mix until crumbly.  If the mixture is too dry, add 1 TBS of almond milk or regular milk to help the mixture come together.  
  • Pour peach mixture into a cooking dish, then top with the crumble. Place into oven and bake about 30 minutes, or until the crisp is bubbling and browned on top.
  • You can serve this for breakfast, but it would be really delicious served as a dessert with some ice cream
Leave a Reply

