Kitchen Garden In Progress


Today was beautiful–sunshine, birds chirping, the whole bit.  I’ve been wanting to “break ground” on the side kitchen garden, and today seemed like the perfect afternoon to do it.

It doesn’t look like much, but I got the first raised bed in and filled it with strawberry plants.  It’s is two boxes deep (I failed to get a photo of the crater I created before we refilled it, but such is life), and looks a little bare…but I know the strawberries will spread.  This weekend I’m hoping JGL and I can get the rest of the garden dug up and boxes in so I can start filling it.  We also have a few clematis plants that finally came in that I’m going to train up the carport columns Grampa Farnsworth Style.

So happy St. Patrick’s Day from the L. Homestead–I hope yours was a sunny and beautiful as ours was!

Leave a comment