GAL’s Dilemma

Oprah always make me think about being sick.

This is for the simple fact that I never watch her unless I’m curled up and feeling like crap, and yesterday was no different.  It’s comforting, in a way, almost like Oprah knows when I’m going to come down with something icky and awful and she picks a special topic just for me.

Yea, I know you’re jealous that Oprah has my back like that 😉

Yesterday was no different–the familiar music swelled, Oprah filled the screen and she told me that today was Vegan day, and food great Michael Pollan was going to be on the show to speak.  Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma was the common reading book for the college that I work at a few years ago and he actually came to campus to speak.  It’s one of the few lectures I missed, and being on this new food journey now it makes me sad to think that I missed that opportunity.

But that was then, and this was now–the premiss of the show was that Oprah’s staffers were given the opportunity, tools and education to go Vegan for an entire week.  The results, and more, were discussed on the show.  Pollan didn’t weigh in on everything, but the show brought up an interesting concept–regardless of what food ethos you believe in, the important thing is thinking before you eat.

They went on to showcase a slaughterhouse, Temple Grandin style, and I have to admit that I was more than a little disturbed at what I saw.  I know buying local is important, and I know that humane treatment of the animals that we consume is important, but as much as I hate to realize it understanding the process as a whole is incredibly important as well.

Am I going to go vegan any time soon?  Probably not.  But I do want to be more mindful of where our food comes from, and find ways within our means to make that work. It becomes my own personal dilemma–like I tell my students, each and every action we take affects so much more than just us, and it’s about time we started taking more meaningful action with that. It’s important for our environment, and for our health.

It also makes me that much more excited to see what this next growing season brings us here at the L Homestead!

Leave a Reply

