Making my lists, checking them twice

I’m curled up in the La-Z-Boy with a fire going in the fireplace, and football on the TV.  There is still a whole lot of winter left, and I for one will be doing a snow dance on Tuesday.  Bring it, Snowpocalypse!  I am ready for you.

Tigress in a Pickle’s post about chatelaine got me thinking about my pantry and how that small place in my basement makes me brave when it comes to facing a thing like the Snowpocalypse.  Keeping it and the freezer stocked has always been like a game for me.  And as I was chatting about with Grampa today, there is nothing in the world than cracking open a can of tomatoes or peaches this time of year when everything feels bland and bleak.

It feels like we didn’t get as much canned and processed from our gardening efforts this past year.  We have a few cans of tomatoes from our own garden, pickles from our prolific cucumbers, a pound of peas I’m hoarding in our freezer, and one last quart of frozen blueberries.  While my pantry isn’t lacking in soups, stocks and pasta, I do wish I had more of my own “goods.”

So in order to fix this, I’m doing what I do best–make a list.  We’ll be tackling a list of what end products we want to see in our pantry, and what we need to grow in order to get there.  I’m hoping this more purposeful planning will let us maximize our growing space.

Here’s the list as it stands today, and recommendations and requests are always welcomed!

  • crushed tomatoes
  • bread and butter pickles
  • Salsa
  • tomato paste
  • strawberry jam
  • canned peaches
  • frozen peas
  • frozen zucchini puree (for breads)
  • frozen beans
  • frozen winter squash
  • frozen carrots
One thought on “Making my lists, checking them twice

Leave a Reply

