Homesteading 2011

I’m sitting as snug as a bug in a rug in my parent’s 1800’s something house in NH watching the Blizzard of 2010 create a winter wonderland outside.  We’ve set up Dad’s new iPod, and Mom is having fun reading on her new Kindle.  JGL’s Kindling it, too, and thanks to some research we realized he and I could share books, and more importantly notations in books.  It’s a little mind blowing as we have so many technologies converging here how Christmas might have felt up here 200 years ago.

But back to my Kindle thought…part of my Christmas gift from JGL was the book, The Backyard Homestead, which I’ve been eyeing up for quite some time now.   I was incredibly pleased at the depth and breadth of information, and as JGL said to me last night, “You’ve been going on with new garden ideas for almost 24 hours straight!”.  And he’s right, I’ve been pretty fired up about new gardening ideas and techniques, and I’m really quite excited to start to try to implement them. Not to mention all the notes I’ve made for myself on the Kindle so he can go straight to my bright ideas.

So as 2010 winds down, we’re already gearing up here at the JLG Homestead with visions of composting, A-Frame trellises, cold frames, hot houses and raised beds!

2 thoughts on “Homesteading 2011

Leave a Reply

