Long time coming

I know, I know…it’s been way too long.  After the cricket incident, I was having a hard time getting out to the back forty to do much of anything.  That paired with the extreme heat we’ve had, and our gardening “efforts” have been lack luster.

Hope was about to be lost when we realized that the tomatoes in the kitchen garden had pretty much run their course.  And much to my delight, it wasn’t too overgrown, and it wasn’t too terribly buggy.  Close to no crickets–I was excited!  So last weekend we ripped up all but two tomato and one pepper plants, and put in some peas and some butternut squash.

I’m excited to see how the “tee-pee” method works with trellising the peas, and I’m very excited to have the butternut squash closer to the house…no one’s sneaking away with them this time around!

Leave a Reply

