And we’re back

I know, I know, it’s been a long hiatus since our last update.  In my defence, I was gone for two weeks, and apparently it rained the good majority of the time I was gone.  But this weekend we tackled the yard with a vengeance, thanks to the added deadline of my folks coming to visit at the end of May (which I’m incredibly excited about!).  There’s still lots to be done today, so I’m making this quick, but here’s the list of things accomplished this weekend:

  • One more truck load of mulch procured and spread on the back gardens and then shared amongst the front gardens.
  • Side “kitchen” garden weeded out, re-edged, and mulched; rogue tomato plants thinned, last of the ‘maters went in there.
  • Blueberry bushes weeded and mulched…we have a few berries poking through!
  • Veggie garden weeded; grass clippings spread on the paths; weed-eated along the edges.
  • Cauliflower, cucumbers, acorn squash, one more row of October beans, four more rows of corn, and three rows of pole beans put in the ground!

In addition to that we’ve decided to move forth with line drying all our stuff (in addition to the added benefit of helping the environment, I’m really hoping this helps my wallet this summer!), and I made the executive decision to start making all the household cleaners.  I know it has nothing to do with gardening, but we’ll let you know how all this goes as well 🙂

The photo album is updated so be sure to check it out, and we’ll update more soon!

3 thoughts on “And we’re back

  1. Des says:

    I see you guys are rocking and rolling on a pretty impressive green thumb museum. I saw that you guys were planting beans and wanted to ask you if you ever considered putting “bean towers” in your garden. Have you guys heard of them or used them? If not, I highly recommend you try it. They are great for saving space and you’ll get much more growth and output from your bean crop.

    • Gracie Lou says:

      Des, I think I have seen these, but haven’t used them in the past. I love the concept, though! There’s a little space left up in what I’m calling the Kitchen Garden (it’s right next to our carport), and this would be a very cool thing to try up there. Thanks for the suggestion, and I hope we get to see you all soon!

  2. Charlene says:

    And who wouldn’t be excited about a visit from us?! 🙂 Let me count them! Garden is looking good! Can’t wait to see it in person.

Leave a Reply

